Flogging Molly announces new album, ‘Anthem’

Rise Records

Flogging Molly has announced a new album called Anthem.

The seventh studio effort from the long-running Celtic punk outfit — and the first in five years — will arrive September 9. Flogging Molly collaborated with Steve Albini on the record, marking the first time they’ve worked with Nirvana‘s In Utero producer since he engineered their first two albums: 2000’s Swagger and 2002’s Drunken Lullabies.

“With this record we went back to the basics in a way that I don’t think we could have done if we hadn’t been playing together for over 20 years,” says frontman Dave King. “I think going back to Chicago and doing this record with Steve made the experience so fun and I really believe you can hear that on the record.”

Anthem includes the previously released song “These Times Have Got Me Drinking/Tripping Up the Stairs,” as well as a just-premiered new track called “The Croppy Boy ’98,” which is available now via digital outlets.

The album news coincides with the launch of Flogging Molly’s co-headlining U.S. tour with The Interrupters, which begins Tuesday in Indianapolis.

Here’s the Anthem track list:

“These Times Have Got Me Drinking/Tripping Up the Stairs”
“A Song of Liberty”
“Life Begins and Ends (But Never Fails)”
“No Last Goodbyes”
“The Croppy Boy ’98”
“This Road of Mine”
“(Try) Keep the Man Down”
“Now Is the Time”
“Lead the Way”
“These Are the Days”
“The Parting Wave”

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.