Halsey unveils ‘If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power’ track list: “I can’t wait for you to hear everything”

Lucas Garrido

Halsey has unveiled the track list for her new album, If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power, due out August 27.

Unlike her previous album, Manic, this album doesn’t have any features on it. “It feels very cool to have an album with no features again. It felt like this had to be entirely from my voice, similarly to Badlands,” she tweeted, referring to her 2015 debut. “I can’t wait for you to hear everything.”

When a fan asked if they’d always planned to make the record — produced by Nine Inch NailsTrent Reznor and Atticus Ross — a concept album, Halsey replied, “Weirdly enough it was always supposed to be about mortality and everlasting love and our place / permanence. It was just amplified by me being pregnant. Introduced new themes of control and body horror and autonomy and conceit.”

When another fan predicted that the track named “The Lighthouse” “was gonna hurt,” Halsey replied, “Oh no. You’re gonna LOVE IT.”

Another fan asked what the track called “honey,” is about, leading Halsey to reply, “A wild girl.”

Finally, referring to a tweet from December in which Halsey stated that she was “keeping five secrets,” a fan asked if all the secrets were “out on the open now.”  She replied, “Nope,” with a smile.

Here’s the If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power track list:

“The Tradition”
“Bells in Santa Fe”
“Easier than Lying”
“Girl is a Gun”
“You asked for this”
“I am not a woman, I’m a god”
“The Lighthouse”

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.