Iggy Pop, Michael Stipe, St. Vincent & more contribute to ‘The Velvet Underground & Nico’ tribute album

Verve Records

Artists including Iggy Pop, R.E.M.‘s Michael Stipe and St. Vincent are contributing to a compilation paying tribute to The Velvet Underground and Nico‘s legendary debut album.

The record, titled I’ll Be Your Mirror, will be released September 24. You can listen to Kurt Vile‘s version of “Run Run Run” now via digital outlets.

Released in 1967, The Velvet Underground & Nico was initially a flop, but later came to be considered one of the best records of all time, as well as a massive influence on the what would become alternative rock. Even if you’ve never actually heard the album, you’d surely know it by its iconic Andy Warhol-designed cover artwork.

Other artists featured on I’ll Be Your Mirror include The National‘s Matt Berninger, Sonic Youth‘s Thurston Moore, Courtney Barnett, Sharon Van Etten and King Princess.

Here’s the track list:

“Sunday Morning” — Michael Stipe
“I’m Waiting for the Man” — Matt Berninger
“Femme Fatale” — Sharon Van Etten
“Venus in Furs” — Andrew Bird & Lucius
“Run Run Run” — Kurt Vile
“All Tomorrow’s Parties” — St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett
“Heroin” — Thurston Moore feat. Bobby Gillespie
“There She Goes Again” — King Princess
“I’ll Be Your Mirror” — Courtney Barnett
“The Black Angel’s Death Song” — Fontaines D.C.
“European Son” — Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.