New Music Friday: Roddy Ricch, the Weeknd, Gucci Mane, and Nick Cannon’s ‘Miracles Across 125th Street’ soundtrack

Roddy Ricch LIVE LIFE FAST album cover courtesy Atlantic Records

Roddy Ricch dropped his second studio album, LIVE LIFE FAST, on Friday, featuring Future, 21 Savage, Kodak Black, Ty Doll $ign, Lil Baby, Gunna, and Takeoff from Migos. The 18-track project is the follow-up to his 2019 RIAA double-Platinum debut album, Please Excuse Me for Being Antisocial. The Grammy winner also debuted the video for “25 million” from the album. The 23-year-old rapper recently celebrated “The Box” from Please Excuse Me for Being Antisocial being RIAA-certified Diamond for ten million sales.

The Weeknd served double duty Friday, dropping two tracks with separate artists. The three-time Grammy winner is featured on the latest posthumous release by Aaliyah, “Poison.” The song is the first single from her upcoming album, Unstoppable, due in 2022. The Toronto star previously sampled her 2002 hit “Rock the Boat” on “What You Need,” from his 2011 mixtape, House of Balloons. The Weeknd is also featured on FKA Twigs’ new song, “Tears in the Club”. The new tracks follows the “Blinding Lights” singer’s previous release, “One Right Now,” with Post Malone, which dropped on November 5

Also, Gucci Mane is celebrating the holidays with his So Icy Christmas compilation album. The “Trap God” recorded five solo tracks on the project, which also features several of the artists from his 1017 Global Music label, including BigWalkDog, BiC Fizzle, and Hotboy Wes.

Finally, Nick Cannon released the soundtrack for his holiday film Miracles Across 125th Street, which he directed, produced, and in which he stars. The 13 tracks feature Cannon, as well as several of the cast members, including Teyana Taylor, Fred Hammond, Lil Kim, Jim Jones, Karen Clark-SheardKierra Sheard, and Kiki SheardMiracles Across 125th Street premieres Monday, December 20 at 9 p.m. ET/PT on VH1.

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.