David Ellefson launches new, post-Megadeth project, The Lucid

SpoilerHead Records

Former Megadeth bassist David Ellefson has formed a new band.

The group is called The Lucid, and it also features Sponge vocalist Vinnie Dombroski, guitarist Drew Fortier and Fear Factory drummer Mike Heller. They’ll release their self-titled debut album on October 15; you can listen to lead single “Maggot Wind,” now via digital outlets.

“It’s been a real blast making a record with these guys and I must say that it’s refreshing to explore some new musical avenues…to step out a bit from what each of us have done stylistically in our own careers,” Ellefson says.

“There was an effortless synergy that came with creating these songs together which is always amazing when working with new people,” he adds. “I’m looking forward to everyone checking it out!”

The Lucid is Ellefson’s first project since he was dismissed from Megadeth last May after sexually explicit video of him interacting with a woman leaked online. 2000s era Megadeth bassist James LoMenzo replaced Ellefson on tour, and Dsvid’s bass parts for the band’s upcoming new album were re-recorded.

Here’s the track list for The Lucid:

“Maggot Wind”
“Deaths of Despair”
“Spoiler Head”
“Breech Boy”
“Pigs and Sons”
“Parade of Spit”

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.